To Another World: Why I love the isekai genre

It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that in the last decade Light Novel adaptations have become a lot more commonplace in the medium of Anime.

Just like their distant cousins, Manga adaptations, these kinds of series cover a broad variety of different genres from magical high school, to harem comedies, to a crazy psychological mystery series about magical boxes that ruin people’s lives.

175666l
This one’s a little specific…

But one genre that’s become particularly prominent within the Light Novel adaptation scene is that of isekai: series where the protagonist is transported to or trapped in alternate world that is vastly different from that of their own.

While these kinds of shows been around for years, with Inuyasha and .Hack being two very famous and more early examples, the isekai genre has had a near unparalleled boom in recent years, mostly due to the Anime adaptation of Reki Kawahara’s Light Novel series, Sword Art Online, which was met with an unprecedented amount of commercial success and became extremely popular with the masses both during, and after, it was airing.

12574617

Since Sword Art Online, these kinds of shows have become more commonplace, with many studios and production teams clearly trying to emulate its success. They’ve become so common that it’s more or less guaranteed that every season will have at least one isekai show, and in most cases, these kinds of shows will be among the most popular.

There are plenty of people that aren’t too happy with this recent saturation of the genre. Sword Art Online was a very polarising show when it first came out, and it’s still being discussed even today, mostly in a negative light (although that’s a whole other topic in and of itself). Other, more recent series such as Re:Zero, Konosuba and Grimgar have shared a similar fate, albeit on a much less impactful scale.

95445cd55c37ce2ff04ef1adde79f50c1459210457_full

For many Anime fans, this particular genre has begun to feel stale and overdone. Every time a new Isekai show is announced and added to a seasonal roster, it is almost instantly met with a gigantic wave of sighs and headshakes. In all honesty, I don’t really blame people for reacting this way. There are a lot of Isekai shows out there and if the genre is something that doesn’t appeal to your tastes, I can completely understand why it being such a prominent force in today’s seasonal Anime climate would be a concern for you.

However, as many of you are likely aware, I like Isekai. I’d go as far as saying that, under the correct circumstances and with the proper execution, I’m even capable of loving an Isekai show. To be perfectly honest, it’s become one of my favourite genres and I often find myself gravitating to these series above most others that come out each season because I always find myself enjoying them a great deal. Even those that aren’t particularly unique or well executed in their ideas.

But what do I find so appealing about this oversaturated genre?

Well, for me personally, a lot said appeal comes from how the worlds of these shows are structured. Almost all of them, be it a virtual online video game setting like Sword Art Online’s floating castle Aincrad or a traditional fantasy setting such as the one presented in Grimgar, take heavy influences from game design. Even if the series itself doesn’t necessarily take place in an actual video game, almost every modern day Isekai show feels as though it has a game-like quality to its setting.

They tend to take place in a world that is bound by a hierarchical system governed by a complex set of rules or mechanics that serve as a foundation for the way its society as a whole functions. Whether it be literal game mechanics, such as the Sword Skills and interactive menu and user windows seen in Sword Art Online or a gameified magic system of various elements like the one we see in Re:Zero, the influence from video games is both very evident and has become quite the genre staple.

rezero1-noscale

I can’t speak for anyone else, but personally, I love video games and I’m fascinated by Game Design, so seeing its principles applied to the world of a series that’s a part of my favourite form passive entertainment is a real treat for me. Furthermore, I really like in depth systems with a focus on mechanics and rule sets. There’s a reason I love Hunter x Hunter’s Nen System so much. It’s a system constructed of rules with abilities that are split into categories that both interact and relate to one another, with their own strengths and weaknesses. Much like the core mechanics of a video, it’s a system that plays by a particular set of rules and a lot of internal logic with various limitations and restrictions on what can and can’t be done by the user.

84b2e954ee51df1a38749bb2f7ea1188-charts-hunters

But the even bigger appeal of isekai shows, is the way that they allow the audience to experience the narratives they present. The protagonists of these shows tend to be extremely relatable everymen that the viewer can easily project themselves onto which allows them to insert themselves into the narrative being presented. For many viewers this is a pretty serious issue and I don’t necessarily disagree with the criticisms against self-insert characters and self-insertion in general. I completely agree that, more often than not, it allows for the creation of fairly boring and uninteresting main characters, which in turn can have an effect on the overall quality of the story itself. However, I also believe that there is something good that can come from self-insertion, and it’s one of the reasons I, and likely many others, find this genre so appealing to watch.

Having this kind of protagonist allows the audience to vicariously live their experiences within this fantastical and whimsical setting. It creates an immersive experience, a means of escape from what many consider to be a mundane and stressful real world. Call it “wish fulfilment” or whatever negative, snarky, condescending umbrella term you so desire, but this experience can often be really enjoyable and you can’t deny that it’s quite unlike anything else.

tanaka-kun-01
You can’t.

Perhaps this is just another case of my personal biases taking priority over all logic and reason, but I watch Anime to relax, to escape to another world and immerse myself in the goings-ons of that world. There’s no better way to do that, than through a series in which the audience can self-insert.

As much as I appreciate a well written story, having a tight narrative is far from the only thing that can make a series enjoyable and worth your time. Being immersed, taking yourself to another world, vicariously living a characters experience in that world, these are all reasons why, for me, the isekai genre is worth my time.

Writing isn’t everything, the experience is.

And this genre is the best way for me to get such an experience.

Isekai is fine, and I’m glad it’s not going anywhere.

0da0ac823bb3399174c6cf7674876b5d

 

 

14 thoughts on “To Another World: Why I love the isekai genre

  1. Always love learning something new. Never knew this was called the Isekai genre. I am a huge Sword Art Online fan (yes they do still exist lol), but can’t say that I have seen many other series that fall into this particular category of anime. Really enjoyed this post: like I said it’s always nice to learn something new 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I was able to teach you something new with this post.

      I too am an SAO fan, so it’s nice to see there’s more amongst my readers and fellow bloggers!

      There’s definitely plenty of series in this genre, especially recently. If you liked SAO, you’re bound to find a bunch you’ll enjoy.

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you in that I love isekai stories (loved them even as a kid reading standard fantasty novels – someone getting trapped in another world was always fun). Of course, the issue with saturation of any genre starts to be the varying levels of quality. And this is one genre that has a lot of questionable entries where lazy writing and plot seem to dominate. That doesn’t take away from the excellent stories that construct well-realised and interesting worlds to explore, but for people that aren’t such fans of the genre it certainly adds fuel to their argument.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. There’s plenty of shows in the genre that are lazy and pretty terrible, and the abundance of the genre itself really isn’t helping that fact.

      Still, there are plenty of shows still coming out that try their best to do new and exciting things, sometimes succeeding.

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, there’s simply too much isekai series to list them all in a single post, I feel.

      Overlord does tend to get overlooked, however. Maybe because it opts to also feature a villain protagonist whereas most isekai titles feature a protagonist that’s undeniably good or at least nominal good (like in Konosuba).

      Liked by 2 people

    2. In all honesty, I didn’t mention it because I haven’t actually found the time to watch it yet, so I have very little to comment on outside of things I’ve heard from others.

      I was always under the impression it was one of the less popular shows too, although I may be mistaken there, since it’s getting a second season…

      I’m aiming to get round to watching it at some point though.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you finally got out your isekai post that you were talking about a few months ago!!

    It’s definitely a genre that receives a lot of hate, but there are definitely some titles that deserve recognition!

    Thanks for the passionate post~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surprised you remember me mentioning that, considering how long ago that was haha.

      This one took me a while, mostly because I had to watch a good few more shows in the genre to see if my points about video game influence actually had some weight to it (and it seems it does, from the examples I mentioned and others I didn’t).

      And you’re right. As with all genres, there’s something worth watching in amongst all of these shows.

      Thanks you for reading and sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My memory is somewhat decent sometimes!

        Mmm that’s fair. I’m glad that you waited to research shows before posting!

        That has to be the case for nearly all genres, right? I feel like a few people forget that sometimes. Generalizations suck! Wait, that is also a generalization…

        It was my pleasure!

        Like

Leave a Reply

