Overall First Impressions + What I’ll be Watching – Summer 2017

The Summer Anime season is well under way and I’m a little late with this because I recently moved house and I’m still getting settled in, but here are my overall First Impressions for the current Anime season.

As always I’ll be splitting everything into tiers, which are described below.

And naturally, with the exception of Netsuzou TRap because I’m doing a weekly podcast on the series, I won’t be watching any of these shows weekly because I kind of hate doing that.

So without further delay, here are the tiers.

The Tiers:

  • Incredible – Will Most Definitely Watch: Shows listed under this tier will be shows that I’ll most definitely be watching as soon as possible. These are the shows that currently have me the most invested, that keep me glued to my monitor and that have me literally filled with excitement and suspense from beginning to end, every episode. Shows in here all have the potential to become a member of my favourites (although anything can change over time).
  • Looks Interesting – Will Watch: Shows in this tier will be shows that I’ll be watching at some point because they seem like they could go in interesting directions and I’m looking forward to seeing where they will end up. These are shows that, while they had some issues or didn’t have me fully invested, are still engaging enough to warrant further watching.
  • Decent – Will Carry On With It: Shows that had a lot of issues or didn’t really grab me will be under this tier. I’ll be watching these and enjoying them, but there’s a high chance I’ll be stopping and starting these frequently and taking my time with them.
  • Meh – Will Watch Begrudgingly: Shows that are just pretty darn terrible but I feel I should watch for whatever insane or ridiculous reason will be listed here. Watching these shows will no doubt be painful, but I need to persevere for whatever excuse that I’ll no doubt forget upon reaching the halfway point. Of course, things can improve over time. Maybe these will?
  • Not Feeling It – Will Stall For Now: I never drop shows permanently, because my goal is to watch every Anime ever. I’ll never manage to do that in my lifetime, but I’d love to get as close to doing so as possible. However, these shows made me feel nothing, were completely yawn inducing or just had nothing going for me so I’ve put them to the side for god knows how long. I may pick them up again, but it’ll be unlikely to be any time soon.
  • I have Little To Say – The Rest: This is mostly reserved for stuff I generally have no comment on, shows I didn’t check out or second seasons to shows I haven’t seen/have yet to finish.

So let’s break these shows down!

Incredible – Will Most Definitely Watch:

tumblr_o6ouxn7mdp1v2r37ao4_1280

Kakegurui – As a huge fan of the Manga, I went into this one with very high expectations, and MAPPA most definitely delivered. Jabami is a fantastic, sadistic protagonist who ticks all of my preference boxes, the gambling games and stakes are wildly entertaining and the artwork is fantastic. As said before, I’m a little concerned about the projected 12 episode length of the series, but aside from that I have very little to complain about and the show has maintained its quality with each episode. Sadly the show isn’t available for legal streaming because Netflix, but I strongly encourage you to give this a show regardless. It’s worth it. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Kakegurui here.

Netsuzou TRap – No. I’m not trolling nor am I trying to be contrarian for the sake of it. I genuinely think Netsuzou TRap is a good show. In fact, I’d go as far as saying it’s among the best of the season. Perhaps it’s my previous exposure to the Manga, which I’m a big fan of, or my seemingly unconditional love for series that are dark, twisted and unsettling to watch, but I really like this show. It’s weird, it’s immoral and it’s uncomfortable and that’s exactly why I enjoy it so much. Plus, I feel there’s far more depth to it than people are giving it credit for. It’s far more than just a trashy Yuri. I’m even doing a podcast on the show with fellow blogger JuJu over on his YouTube channel where we discuss the most recent episode every week. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Netsuzou TRap here.

Welcome to Ballroom – I didn’t expect to enjoy this one all that much, but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. As someone who doesn’t care for Sports Anime or ballroom dancing, I’ve been enjoying this far more than I thought I would, and it’s mostly to do with the chemistry between the main cast, the stunning visual presentation and the central narrative theme of working hard to achieve ones dreams. It’s a very well executed series so far, and it feels like it’s striving to be the next big hit, something I can see it doing by the time it ends. What a show so far. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Welcome to the Ballroom here.

Looks Interesting – Will Watch:

33d37e1ba084683d4b07b45722ff75791460312022_full

Made in Abyss – It’s no secret that I’ve been pretty disappointed with this show so far. I’ve seen nothing but praise for Made in Abyss as it’s been airing, and while I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad show, I just don’t think it’s anywhere close to being the best show of the season as many have been claiming. It is good though, and there’s a lot of potential for greatness in here. The character interactions are fun and the setting, while not necessarily my cup of tea nor the most unique, is pretty well established and intriguing. I’ve heard from one of my readers, a fan of the Manga, that the series eventually gets a lot darker and improves dramatically as it goes on, and as a lover of all of things dark and grim I look forward to seeing this in the adaptation. I have a feeling that despite my initial complaints, Made in Abyss is going to improve enough to win me over. At least I hope so. Also it looks nice. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Made in Abyss here.

Koi to Uso – This show is pretty great so far. I’ve heard a lot of complains that people are struggling to buy into the idea behind it, but it’s not really been that much of a struggle for me. This is Anime. Anime is weird. Anime has had weirder premises. This is fine. It’s also pretty entertaining and very enjoyable. The show has done a good job of steering clear of predictable territory so far, and has a lot of emotional weight and drama behind its narrative focus. I’m having a great time with this one so far.

Isekai Shokudou – While this show is severely lacking in terms of plot, from what I’ve seen of it so far, Isekai Shokudou is a very heartwarming watch and it’s doing a pretty good job so far for what it is. If you’re looking for a feel-good series this season, this is definitely the show for you. It’s fun and it feels good to watch. Also, the food in this show looks great and is guaranteed to make you feel hungry. Don’t watch an episode without a snack!

Decent – Will Carry On With It:

tanaka-kun-03-6

Hajimete no Gal – It’s a charming romantic comedy and I’ve been warming up to these kinds of shows in recent months, so… Why not? I haven’t seen anything from this one beyond the premiere so far, but it’s an enjoyable fan-service show with a decent sense of humour and nice character designs.

Gamers! – I like video games. This show is about people who like video games. It’s also a romantic comedy. And unlike the other show about video games this season, I’m enjoying this one quite a bit. It’s nothing remarkable, but it’s fun. I’ll take it.

Tsurezure Children – A series of short stories focusing on different romantic couples. There’s not a lot to it, but it’s pretty entertaining and the stories themselves work well as standalone tales. There’s nothing particularly groundbreaking here, but it’s not bad at all.

Isekai wa Smartphone no Tomo ni – There seems to be a lot of hate for this one because “isekai is oversaturated and it’s all the fault of the worst Anime ever made, SAO.” I like isekai, and while this show hasn’t done anything particularly amazing, it’s far better and far more entertaining than people are giving it credit for. I’ll take it over a bunch of the other stuff from this season.

Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu – So far, it’s the best thing I’ve ever seen from ufotable, and it’s a far better adaptation of the source material than the one by Doga Kobo with a far more serious and focused storyline this time around. And of course the production values are incredible, as expected.

Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun – I originally wrote this show off because it was about soccer and I hate soccer and everything related to it. But it turns out this show is actually about a kid with OCD who just happens to play soccer, and it’s pretty hilarious. The show has a style of humour that’s very similar to the likes of Tanaka-kun is Always Listless and Haven’t You Heard I’m Sakamoto?, the former of which is one of my all-time favourite shows, so naturally I’m enjoying this one a lot more than I expected to. However, the soccer aspects of the show still doesn’t interest me all too much which unfortunately puts a downer on the overall experience. However, it’s still been a good time so far.

Centaur no Nayami – As I’ve said before, I’ve never been keen on the whole girls mixed with mythical creatures and monsters thing, but from what I’ve seen so far, this show is kinda cute and fun. I can’t complain.

Teekyuu 9 – More Teekyuu madness. I’ll take it.

Nana Maru San Batsu – This show is pretty fun, but I can see it eventually getting old. Hopefully it doesn’t!

Meh – Will Watch Begrudgingly:

tanaka-kun-02-5

Fate/Apocrypha – As I’ve said many times in the past, I’m not the biggest Fate fan, and sadly Apocrypha has done very little to change that. From it’s lengthy scenes of exposition to its fairly bland and uninteresting cast, the series is suffering from all of the same problems as its predecessors. Fortunately the action scenes are pretty great though, so at least there’s something in here for me. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Fate/Apocrypha here.

New Game!! – I tried New Game. I really, really tried to like you this time around. I even went back and rewatched some of the first season to try and let you win me over. But no. You’re still just “K-ON!: Video Game Edition” and I just can’t bring myself to care about you. But I’ll finish you. I’ve come this far.

Knight’s and Magic – Outside of the cool mechas, I’m not really feeling this one at all. I’m not even the biggest fan of mecha to begin with, so the fact the robots are the most appealing thing to me in this show speaks volumes. Also, that apostrophe is really annoying. Knight Is and Magic. AHHH.

The Reflection – So it turns out famous American comic book creator Stan Lee teamed up with Studio Deen to make this. That’s pretty neat. I like the idea of a big shot creator from the West getting involved in an Anime production. Sadly, The Reflection hasn’t left much of an impression on me at all so far. I guess it doesn’t help that My Hero Academia, a show about superheroes that blows it out of the water in every way imaginable, is currently airing alongside it.

Not Feeling It – Will Stall For Now:

tanaka-kun-07-5

Battle Girl High School – I wasn’t expecting much from this one at all given the premise, but my oh my is this show bad. The cast is uninteresting and the narrative gives the audience no incentive to care about anything going on and is just incredibly dull. The show doesn’t even look great either, with some incredibly generic character designs and flat animation. I expected far more from a show about “battles”. I’m in no rush to finish this.

18if – The show looks great. I’ll give it that. Otherwise, there’s nothing of particular interest going on here to make me care about it. While the visual presentation stands out and is pretty ambitious, I can’t say the same about its story which so far is just… Really bland and uninteresting to me. It’s a shame to see such an awesome aesthetic go to waste.

Dive!! – It’s Free! again. Thankfully it’s nowhere near as terrible, but I just can’t face this kind of man-service right now. Later.

Jikan no Shihaisha – This one isn’t doing it for me and it’s unfortunately pretty boring. I won’t be going back this any time soon unless I hear something extraordinary.

Skirt no Naka wa Kedamono Deshita. – Cross-dressing ecchi series. Fun times.

I Have Little To Say – The Rest:

maxresdefault-1

Aho Girl – Romantic comedy about a dumb girl. I forgot to watch it.

Owarimonogatari Season 2 – I’m still watching Monogatari Series Second Season. I’ll get to this whenever I catch up in the next 10 years or so.

Princess Principal – Cute girls being cute spies. Didn’t watch.

Vatican Kiseki Chousaken – I forgot to watch this one so I have nothing to say other than: This looks like something I’ll enjoy. I’ll get to it.

Konbini Kareshi – I also forgot about this one. Whoops.

Hell Girl Season 4 – I haven’t seen the previous 3 seasons of Hell Girl, so I haven’t seen this. I’m sure it’ll be great though.

Saiyuuki Reload Blast – I haven’t seen the many previous seasons of this either, so I’ll likely not get round to this any time soon.

Tenshi no 3P! – A music thing that I forgot about.

Hitorijime My Hero – A spin-off for a thing I’ve never heard of.

Nora to Oujo to Noraneko Heart – Not my cuppa.

Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e – I forgot to watch this.

Symphogear Season 4 – I’ve never cared for Symphogear and have yet to finish Season 1.

Clione no Akari – Oh! This is that show that seemed really interesting before from that new studio! …I’ll need to get around to this one to see what it’s about. No one seems to be rooting for it though… If I end up liking it, I’ll write about it.

Yami Shibai 5th Season – Cool horror things.

Kaito x Ansa – I’ve never seen, or heard of, the first season, so… Yeah…

Action Heroine Cheer Fruits – I’m still not sure what a “local heroine fighter” is.

Mahoujin Guruguru (2017) – I said to myself that I’d watch the original before giving this one a shot. I haven’t watched the original yet.

Musekinin Galaxy Tylor – See above.

Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou – I should get around to watchung this one. I’ve heard it’s good.

Ikemen Sengoku: Toki wo Kakeru ga Koi wa Hajimaranai – *Orochimaru voice* SASSSSSUKEEEEEEEEE!

Pikotarau no Lullaby Lullaby – Cool concept. Hasn’t started airing beyond episode 1 yet.

Mori no Yousei: Kinoko no Musume – PICTURE BOOKS.

Catchy-kun no Nice Catch! – Catchy title.

Hina Logi – From Luck and Logic – I still don’t know if this is a part of that Luck and Logic thing that may or may not exist. I still don’t know if Luck and Logic is even a thing? Is it? What is Luck and Logic? Is it a franchise? A video game maybe? I DON’T KNOW. HELP!

And that’s a wrap!

I don’t think I missed anything. If I did miss something feel free to flag it up.

I hope you all enjoyed hearing my thoughts on the season so far. Better late than never!

Overall, the season is pretty great, although not as good as last seasons selection. Still, there are plenty of great shows and I’m looking forward to watching them all to completion!

tumblr_o5dm3lgtxt1r4ixqko1_500

What are your first impressions and what are you watching this Season?

Leave a Reply

