Pre-Airing Impressions: Summer 2017 Anime Season

The Spring 2017 Anime Season has finally wrapped itself up and the Summer sizzle is now upon us. The season has already started up, so I’m a tad late with some of this, but here are my Pre-Airing Impressions for the upcoming Anime season.

Note: I’m not covering movies or specials in this post. However, I will say now that No Game No Life: Zero is coming out, and it looks great.

Kakegurui – I’m a humongous fan of the Manga that this series is based on, so I’m incredibly hyped for this. It’s kind of similar to Kaiji, where the focus is on a setting based entirely on gambling and screwing over your opponents in the most underhanded ways possible to achieve glory and status. However, unlike Kaiji, the protagonist is a sadistic girl who loves taking risks. She practically gets off at the idea and relishes in crushing her opponents, despite appearing naive and innocent.

The original Manga is one of the best things to come out in recent years, and has some fantastic psychological battles and incredible artwork. With MAPPA being at the helm of this production, I’m confident that this will be one of the best shows of the season.

My only real concern is that the show is only going to be 12 episodes long and the Manga is still ongoing with no real ending point in sight, so this adaptation is likely going to end in the middle of nowhere and we’ll probably never get a second season.

Regardless, I look forward to seeing those lewd, sadistic faces. I’m hyped.

Fate/Apocrypha – Another season, another entry in the Fate franchise. I’m not the biggest fan of the Fate franchise, it’s a convoluted mess of a death tournament with far too many scenes of characters standing around and talking instead of just killing each other, and it’s full of yawn inducing exposition dumps that just don’t appeal to me at all. I’ll be checking this out purely due to morbid curiosity, but I don’t have particularly high hopes for this one. The fact it’s not being done by ufotable is also a negative, since their production was the one thing that appealed to me in the previous entries of the franchise. I just wish someone would make a full TV Anime of Fate/Prototype already.

Hajimete no Gal – This show looks pretty fun. I don’t know an awful lot about it beyond the premise, but it seems like it’ll be a charming little romantic comedy with some killer fan-service. If it proves to be funny, and has a likable cast of characters, I’ll be down with this.

Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu – Doga Kobo already tried their hand at adapting this franchise and I wasn’t the biggest fan of what I saw. This time ufotable has stepped in to try it again, and it seems like they’re going for something much more action focused as opposed to a comedy. I’m not the biggest fan of ufotable or their recent obsession with video game adaptations, but this seems like it could be pretty enjoyable. And of course the animation is going to be excellent. Maybe this will be the ufotable show that wins me over.

Owarimonogatari Second Season – More Monogatari! Yay! I’m still watching Monogatari Series Second Season, so I don’t have much to comment on aside from saying that I’m glad this series is still getting adapted.

New Game!! – New Game is getting a second season. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first season and I didn’t enjoy it at all as I expected “Shirobako: Games Industry Edition” and instead got another K-ON. However, with my outlook on these kinds of shows having changed significantly recently, perhaps I’ll give this one a shot. Maybe I’ll even go back and watch the first season again and maybe, just maybe, I’ll enjoy it this time around. These are weird times for me and cute girls shows.

Koi to Uso – This one has a weird but interesting premise focusing on a world where arranged marriages are the norm and falling in love and choosing a partner of your own free will is forbidden by the law. Naturally, the main character is going to be someone that falls in love with someone else. I’m hoping for a ton of romantic drama with this one, and am looking forward to seeing how this turns out. This could be one of my favourites of the season if it’s done right.

Gamers! – A romantic comedy focusing on people that enjoy playing video games? This could go either way, really. If the jokes land and it appeals to my inner gamer, this one could wind up being fantastic.

Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni – It’s no big secret that I’m a huge fan of the isekai genre. Despite it being a little oversaturated in today’s Anime landscape, I have an affinity for these kinds of shows and I more often than not wind up having a great time with them. I’m not entirely sure what this one will be doing this time around, but if it provides the usual isekai fare, I’m sure it’ll be a fun ride for me.

Netsuzou TRap – This an adaptation of one of my favourite Manga, so I’m super excited to see how this turns out. It’s about a forbidden, lustful relationship between two girls. It’s a little sleazy and even gets uncomfortable at times but, much like Scum’s Wish, that’s precisely what I love about it. I expect this to be of similar quality.

Unfortunately though, it seems this is going to be half length episodes. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about that, but hopefully it doesn’t hinder the experience too much.

Otherwise, I’m expecting this to be among the best of the season. What can I say? I love this stuff. I’m a horrible person.

Welcome to the Ballroom – I’m really looking forward to this one. Fans of the source material have assured me that it’s absolutely fantastic, and given what I’ve seen of it, I don’t doubt them for a second. If the production side of this show is handled well, this could be a really great show. I’m also hoping for some kind of romance. Hopefully that’s not too much to ask for.

Jikan no Shihaisha – This looks like it’s the obligatory time travel show of the season. Warriors of time battle against demons that try to cause time resets? This could either be totally awesome or incredibly stupid. Guess we’ll find out.

Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e – Yet another series set in a school with a class hierarchy where those at the top are treated like gods and those at the bottom are branded inferior. Naturally the protagonist is in the bottom class. It seems all too familiar, but who knows?

Tsurezure Children – A series depicting various scenarios of young love? As someone who loves romance shows, and is in love himself, count me in! Some of the scenarios sound a little crazy, but this looks like it’ll be really fun.

Isekai Shokudou – This show is about a cafe that serves really good food to people from other worlds…? Maybe? Seems cool.

Made in Abyss – This seems like a really cool adventure series and it’s by Kinema Citrus, so the production values are sure to be spot on.

Shoukoku no Altair – This one looks like an interesting, political, war drama and it’s by MAPPA. I’ll likely enjoy this one.

Hell Girl Season 4 – Hell Girls is getting a new season? I didn’t expect this at all. I haven’t seen any of the previous seasons, but it’s nice to see this franchise come back. I know fans have been dying for another season for a while now, so this is good news. Perhaps I’ll give the other seasons a watch soon.

Knights & Magic – What ever could this show be about? Oh, it’s not about a mecha obsessed otaku being transported to a world where piloting giant robots is the norm? Where are the knights? Where is the magic? The mechas are called “knights”? What about the magic? Where is the magic?!

…In all seriousness, this show doesn’t seem like it’ll be my thing. These days I’m notas big of a mecha fan as I used to be, so this will need to do something spectacular to hold my interest.

Aho Girl – A romantic comedy about a not-so-smart girl falling in love with her childhood friend and him needing to put up with her incredibly silly antics. Seems fun and charming. I’m on board.

The Reflection – This one is about people with superpowers and heroes and villains. My Hero Academia is already doing an excellent job of this kind of story, so unless this show has a very different take on the idea, I’m not expecting much.

Dive!! – The PTSD I received from watching Free! back in 2014 is immediately kicking in upon seeing the poster for this. Free! is my least favourite Anime of all time, so I really hope that this isn’t anything like it. Please just be about diving. Please don’t be like Free! Please.

Vatican Miracle Examiner – This one looks like it’ll be a cool series about solving the conspiracies behind “miracles” and what not. Most likely episodic. Seems interesting.

Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun – It’s a show about soccer. I hate soccer. Will not watch.

Centaur no Nayami – This one is about a centaur girl and her similarly supernatural bodied friends living the life of regular high school girls. I’m not really into supernatural, monster girl stuff, but I’ll give this a shot.

Princess Principal – Last season we had cute girls being cute scarecrows. This season we have cute girls being cute spies. Sounds… Cute…?

Nora to Oujo to Noraneko Heart – Another ecchi visual novel adaptation. I likely won’t enjoy this because these are never my thing.

Saiyuuki Reload Blast – Apparently this is a new season of a show from years ago. I’ve not seen the previous seasons, so it’s unlikely I’ll watch this any time soon. Happy for any fans though.

Skirt no Naka wa Kedamono Deshita. – A show about cross-dresser? Not my thing, but could be funny. Maybe. Or not.

Hitorijime My Hero – A spin-off of a series I’ve never even heard of, let alone seen. Doesn’t seem like my thing unfortunately.

Nana Maru San Batsu – This one is about competitive quizzes. I like quizzes, so maybe I’ll like this too.

Hina Logi: From Luck & Logic – Is this part of that Luck & Logic franchise I’ve maybe stumbled upon before? I can’t tell. What is Luck and Logic? Is that even a thing? Is it a thing that’s existed before this, or am I making this up? HELP.

…I’m out of element here. I probably won’t bother with this.

Kobini Kareshi – High school students go to a convenience store after school and talk about things and fall in love. Sounds charming.

Battle Girl High School: Battle Girl Project – Ordinary high school girls battling against mysterious invaders. It’s supposedly based on a video game, so I don’t have high hopes for this one. Seems pretty wacky though.

18if – The key visual for this looks beautiful. Beyond that though, I haven’t got a clue what this show is about. It’s part of a multimedia franchise that includes a mobile phone game and a virtual reality game, so this is probably going to be some weird tie in thing that feels disjointed as hell.

Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou – An orphaned high school boy moves into a house that’s haunted by supernatural creatures. I hope this is creepy. Probably won’t be though.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ: By Shedding Many Tears, the Reality You Face Is… – Another season of Symphogear. I don’t like Symphogear. Will probably not watch.

Tenshi no 3P! – The obligatory music focused show of the season. I like this kind of stuff so I’ll give it a watch.

Clione no Akari – This one has an interesting premise centered around bullying and a mysterious email being sent to the victims friends after she disappears. There’s literally nothing else on this series. We don’t even know how long the episodes will be and it seems it’s the studios first ever production. I’ll be keeping my eye on this one.

Yami Shibai 5th Season – Another season of Yami Shibai. Cool.

Teekyuu 9 – The 9th season of the madness that is Teekyuu. I really enjoy Teekyuu, so I’m happy more is being thrown at me this season. Let the insanity continue. Forever.

Action Heroine Cheer Fruits – Cute girls being cute “local heroine fighters”. I’m not sure what this means, but hey, it looks cute.

Kaito x Ansa – Yet another second season of a show I haven’t heard of.

Musashino! – A series of shorts that appears to be a sequel to a series of shorts that were made to advertise a city in Japan. 3 minutes per episode. Character designs look cute. I’ll watch this and the previous series for sure.

Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) – A new adaptation of an old Shounen Fantasy Manga that got an adaptation by Nippon Animation years ago. Sounds like my thing.

Musekinin Galaxy Taylor – A guy and girl go on a space adventure. Apparently a parody. Neat!

Ikemen Sengoku: Toki wo Kakeru ga Koi wa Hajimaranai – This one’s about a high school graduate named Sasuke being sent back to the warring period of Japan. *Orochimaru voice* SASSSSUKEEEEEE.

Mori no Yousei: Kinoko no Musume – No synopsis available. It’s based on a picture book supposedly.

Piko-tarou no Lullaby Lullaby – A series of shorts where each episode will be an improvisation based on an illustration drawn by the director. The director will also voice every character, including himself. This sounds interesting and really weird.

 

And that’s all this season. I don’t think I missed anything. There are a lot of great looking shows yet again this season and some of them are adaptations of some of my favourite Manga, so that’s a treat.

Stay tuned for some First Impressions posts for the shows I decide to write about in the coming days and an overall First Impressions post for the season some time down the line.

Tanaka-kun-07-23

What are you most looking forward to this season? Let me know in the comments below!

 

3 thoughts on “Pre-Airing Impressions: Summer 2017 Anime Season

  1. I think Kakegurui’s the most anticipated anime of the season. Or at least for those people I know. I myself am looking forward to it because of the intriguing premise. And the animation looks awesome.

    Other than that, I’m excited for Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu (I’m a stage play and musical fan), Ballroom e Youkoso, and Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun. I’m not familiar with soccer, but from the PV, it looks like it won’t focus much on the sport. Or idk. I’ll still try it because I found his character amusing. And I badly hope Dive!! won’t be like Free! I’m like that, but I want something that will focus on the sport, too, not drama. I’ll give Tsurezure Children a try, too, for some change.

    Like

  2. Phew, with such a long list, it is almost impossible to choose lol. But I have read the premise for Kakegurui and that is also the one that I am looking forward to the most (at least I hope it will be available here, which is always somethimg that I have to wait for ).

    Like

  3. If I remember well what I wrote on my watch list for summer, Kakegurui, Katsugeki! Touken Ranbu, Dive, Vatican Kiseki Chousakan, and Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun. I already watch Katsugeki and I like what I saw in the 1st ep. Hope it continue like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

