The Listless List: 5 Worst Anime of Spring 2017

Every season has its disappointments, its letdowns and its bad apples.

Today on the Listless List, we’re going to take a look at the 5 shows I thought were the worst of the recently concluded Spring 2017 Anime Season.

Note: These picks are just my own opinions and are only based on shows I watched. I’m not including shorts or kids shows like Beyblade because that’d make this far too easy and predictable. We all know Room Mate is the worst thing to come out this season and nobody is exactly praising the latest season of Duel Masters.

Feel free disagree and please share your own picks in the comments!

5. Sakurada Reset

84470

Sometimes there are shows that you go into with extremely high expectations. Be it due to the fans of the source material hyping it up to no end or the premise being super interesting at a glance, the reasons for having such high hopes for a show is countless.

But sometimes those expectations get shattered and you wind up really disappointed.

Sakurada Reset isn’t a necessarily a bad show, but so far it’s been an incredibly disappointing one, so much so that I had to give it a spot on this list.

The premise is super interesting and the various ideas behind the show are fantastic. Couple this with the fact that David Production, one of my favourite studios in recent years, are behind this shows production, this seemed like it was guaranteed to be a hit with me.

And yeah, it’s not bad. The ensuing narrative is pretty interesting and there’s some cool stuff going on and the production is decent enough to the point that things look nice, even if the animation is some what limited. But it’s all just kind of… Dull… And it’s mostly to do with the characters.

They’re just so… Boring. They talk and act like robots and it really lowers the whole experience. It’s a minor thing, but it winds up affecting the entire atmosphere of the show and makes everything feel lifeless.

I’m not sure if the show gets any better as it goes on, since I only watched to the end of the first major story arc before putting it on hold until I can marathon it when it’s over, but as it currently stands, this show was the biggest disappointment of the season for me.

Sorry, Sakurada Reset. We could’ve had something. Maybe we still will. Who knows?

4. Granblue Fantasy

81630

It’s a video game adaptation and it’s an A-1 Pictures show.

Not that those make this show inherently bad, but I didn’t exactly jump into this one expecting a masterpiece.

Granblue Fantasy, like Sakurada Reset isn’t necessarily bad. It doesn’t do anything particularly offensive and it’s art and general presentation are actually really nice. They actually ditched the Kirito faces in favour of a more unique aesthetic that really makes the show stand out from other A-1 titles and the directing is pretty spot on.

But besides being pretty to look at, there’s not much else on offer with this one. It’s plot is far from unique or interesting and the whole thing just came across as dull and slightly generic. There’s nothing here we haven’t seen from these kinds of fantasy shows before and there’s no unique execution of the pre-established formula to make it even the slightest bit interesting to me.

It looks great though. I’ll give it that.

3. Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai

sin-new-visual

I have nothing against Ecchi shows. Sure, I’m not the biggest fan of these fan-service focused stories that are made for the sole purpose of shoving attractive Anime girls/guys in the faces of those who want to see that kind of stuff, but I’ve found myself warming up to the genre a lot more recently.

But Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai, a show about super sexy girls that each represent one of the seven deadly sins, is censored. For no real reason, really.

The only appeal of this show is to be sexy, yet it hides all the sexy bits because TV broadcast.

Is it really such a big deal? Kind of. If I’m going to experience something that’s clearly meant to be uncensored, then I want to experience it as such. This is the same issue I had with Tokyo Ghoul back in 2014 where every brutal, bloody battle and death was censored and it lowered the shows overall quality for me.

Would an uncensored Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai still make this list? Maybe. It’s not like the show has anything else going on to make it worth watching for me. The character designs are kind of nice, I guess?

I have nothing else to say really. Guess I’ll wait for the blu-rays.

2. Clockwork Planet

85227

Where do I even begin with this one?

It’s a show about a planet made out of clockwork, which is weird, but surely it’s got some interesting ideas, right?

Well… No. Not really. The characters are incredibly bland with the most cliche storylines. The protagonist is an insufferable bundle of absolute idiocy and misery. The artwork and presentation isn’t appealing to me at all and literally hurts my eyes. I guess it also doesn’t help that I’ve literally forgotten almost everything I’ve seen of this show. And what’s worse is that I haven’t even gotten to the end yet which means I need to finish this show having forgotten everything.

I’m not looking forward to it.

Sorry Clockwork Planet fans, this just isn’t for me.

1. Eromanga-sensei

6fd1a6719108981ae2d04125f0768b3d1491614015_full

You all knew this was going to get the number one spot on this list. I think Eromanga-sensei is dreadful. Truly, fucking dreadful.

This show just ticks every single box on the “how to make a show as unappealing for me as possible” list.

It’s about a 12 year old girl and her older brother making light novels together and incest. Said 12 year old is sexualised to ridiculous levels, along with other 12 year old girls, and it’s just so unsettling and creepy.

Honestly, everything I’d want to say about this show has been said by so many other bloggers already, so I’ll just go ahead and quote my fellow blogger Psychime who summed up my feelings perfectly.

“Please kill me.”

It’s rare for a show to offend me to the point that I feel sick to my stomach, but this show is just… Really something else. Even without it’s creepy, taboo themes, the writing is a mess and full of inconsistencies and silly things and the characters are just incredibly uninteresting and bland to me.

I’m baffled at the reception this show has gotten. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and is free to like the things they like, but I’m honestly shocked that this series is as well received and praised as much as it is. People honestly find this appealing?

And after saying all this, I still have to finish the darn thing.

Please. Help me. Noooo!

57793571
AHHHHHHH!

Share your least favourites:

What were your least favourite shows from the Spring 2017 Anime Season? Feel free to share yours in the comments!

12 thoughts on “The Listless List: 5 Worst Anime of Spring 2017

  1. “Sakurada Reset isn’t a necessarily a bad show, but so far it’s been an incredibly disappointing one, so much so that I had to give it a spot on this list.”

    It’s okay Lethargic. We can admit it together. Say it with me, Sakurada Reset is a bad show

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oooh. Someone that I can agree with, finally, on Eromanga. It seems like 95% of Twitter was fawning over that show so hard that they couldn’t find fault with it. I wondered where the people who disliked it were.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well..now I know what to avoid. I haven’t seen any of these shows, bit after reading through all this I don’t think I ever will. The last series sounds especially dreadful, and I’ve seen it appear on quite a number of blogs already as a thing to avoid. Well, thank for at least making my to watch list a bit shorter lol 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad I could convince you to avoid some of this stuff. Honestly, aside from Sakurada, there’s not much here that’s worth your time. Even then, Sakurada isn’t particularly doing anything great. It’s a shame 😦

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Of the shows I ended up watching through the Silver Guardian and Sagrada Reset are the two I am most disappointed in. They both had so much more potential and I know Sagrada Reset isn’t finished, but I suspect I’m pretty close to finished with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i think sakurada reset makes more sense than people give it credit for, but i agree that the characters are so boring that it makes watching it a chore. on top of that, many of the episodes feel like standalone nothingness that interrupt the story for seemingly no reason. id be much more willing to stand behind the series if it was willing to explore the philosophical and psychological ideas it presents instead of lazily introducing them through random conversation.

    definitely agree with you on clockwork planet. people hyped that show up a lot and i just couldnt get interested from the very beginning. i dont know what ppl see in it.

    Like

  6. Ero-manga-sensei is dreck of the highest order. Just another moe. ecchi, slice of life puss stain that was created only to satisfy the otakus. Yeah that might seem harsh, but the truth hurts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

