The Listless List: Top 5 Anime of Spring 2017

The Spring season of this years Anime is just about to wrap up and naturally, as I do every season, I’ve composed another Listless List of my personal choices for the top 5 Anime of the season.

These are, of course, all my own personal picks. I’d love to hear your own, so feel free to share them in the comments!

5. Boruto: Naruto Next Generations

A18934-1558397421.1488396061

Of all the potential shows that could have landed here, I never thought I’d see this take a spot. Yet here we are.

I expected Boruto to be nothing more than a cheap attempt to continue a franchise that should have been put to rest years ago. However, instead it managed to be something with its own identity, capable of standing on its own two feet while having a lot of neat throwbacks to the early days of its predecessor.

Boruto has it’s problems of course, but its a nice reminder of a simpler time and has so much nostalgic value that I couldn’t not put it on this list.

And of course, even without all that, it’s still a pretty solid show on its own. The story looks like it’s going to go to some very interesting places and the fight scenes are good, old fashioned, Shounen fun.

If you’re skeptical, give it a shot! Maybe you’ll enjoy it more than you thought.

4. Attack on Titan Season 2

84177l

After an agonising wait of 4 years, Attack on Titan finally got the second season that fans have been asking for since the first season ended, and boy was it worth the wait.

This second season was simply oustanding and provided a lot of answers to questions Anime only viewers have had for the longest time, while also continuing to be a rollercoaster of emotions throughout.

But even more notable is the sheer sense of terror these new episodes bring. The series seems to have taken a turn into the realm of horror, with a good chunk of the episodes being more heavily focused on the characters struggling to survive while cornered as opposed to flying around like unstoppable killing machines.

And fortunately, a third season has already been announced, and we’re getting it next year! No more agonising waits!

3. Akashic Records of Bastard Magical Instructor

f8bac4fcf8949589f21e144770e32e3f1491269318_full

Akashic Records is pretty great. Apparently that’s dumb to say, so let’s explain why.

At a glance, it feels like your typical, harem, light novel adaptation set in a magical high school, but winds up being so much more than that further down the line.

The first episode, understandably, turned a lot of people off and was subject to a lot of negative feedback, but afterwards, the show definitely succeeded in picking itself up off the ground and proving that it’s so much more than what it initially appeared to be.

And most of this has to do with Glenn, the protagonist, who originally comes across as insufferable and incompetent, but winds up being a much more complex and troubled individual than he lets on. He’s useless as a spellcaster in a world of spellcasters, but he has a vast knowledge of how spells work and the series uses that knowledge to its advantage by creating some absolutely fantastic scenarios out of it.

And unlike most protagonists in Glenn’s position, he actually requires the help of his allies, making them more than just pretty decorations that flock around him while he does all the work. He’s not your typical “special”, overpowered protagonist and the side characters all play a relevant part in the story, and help him out frequently. It’s a real treat for this kind of show.

There’s even a genuine romance thrown in there, albeit one-sided for now, but it was nice enough that I couldn’t help but give the show more points for it.

And the writing, while not perfect, was certainly decent enough to hold it all together.

For a light novel adaptation, Akashic Records just did a lot of things different, in a way that felt refreshing, and as a result, it wound up being one of the best shows of the season. If you watched episode 1 and felt turned off by it, I urge you to try out the next one. Perhaps you’ll be surprised at what you find.

2. Tsuki ga Kirei

85592l

I just started this show yesterday and I’m only about halfway through it at the time of writing this, but I’m confident in giving it this spot in the list because it’s honestly been fantastic so far.

It’s just a really honest, moving, realistic, innocent, slow paced show about adolescent romance, and everything about it just feels so genuine.

As someone who’s entire life revolves around their romance with someone else, this show is just something that speaks to me on almost every level.

It’s just so moving, mature and down to earth, it doesn’t try to be anything other than what it is, and as a result, it just works so well.

And it looks great too.

I’m not sure if it will remain this solid in the end, but as things currently stand, and from what I’ve seen so far, this show is fantastic.

1. My Hero Academia Season 2

84547l

I love battle Shounen series. They’re my favourite kind of shows to watch and My Hero Academia was the new Shounen on the block that I expected to satisfy my cravings for another battle focused, emotionally driven narrative about teenagers with cool superpowers.

And, as you can see from its placing on this list, it managed to satisfy all of them.

It’s just all so incredible. Where do I even start? I’m honestly not even sure how to put it into words, so I’ll just throw things out there.

The raw emotion. The incredibly entertaining challenges and battles. The insanely good production values. The amazing soundtrack.

It’s just the complete package and everything I’d ever want from this kind of series. And we’ve still got a whole other cour left to go.

I just hope they keep making this. Forever. Never stop Bones.

Oh, and Izuku vs. Todoroki is arguably the best Anime fight I’ve seen in forever. Christ that was amazing.

Tanaka-kun-wa-Kyou-mo-Kedaruge-Episode-33-English-Subbed

Share your favourites:

What were your favourite shows from the Spring 2017 Anime Season? Feel free to share yours in the comments!

What’s Next?

On the next edition of the Listless List, we’ll be taking a look at my personal least favourite shows from the Spring 2017 Anime Season. Stay tuned!

14 thoughts on “The Listless List: Top 5 Anime of Spring 2017

  1. I will have to give Tsuki ga Kirei another go when I get back. It wasn’t overly interesting for me early on, but I’ve kind of been wanting to pick it back up for awhile and just haven’t had the time. On the other hand, I kind of wished I had dropped Akashic Records early in the season. Even though it did get better than that first episode, it never really worked for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved the second season of Attack on Titan as well. It did have it’s flaws, and we are still left with quite a few unanswered questions, but overall it was a highly enjoyable experience. The second she that I seriously enjoyed is Kado. With only one more episode to go now, this anime has truly been a surprise and is quite unique. I highly recommend watching it. I might give Tsuki ga Kirei a try, after finishing one or two shows I’m still in the middle of watching. Great post, and thanks for sharing some of your favorites for this season 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was far from perfect, but luckily we’re already getting a second season next year to answer all of those lingering questions!

      I haven’t watched Kado yet, but I’m sure it would have made the list since I’ve heard very positive things about it.

      You really should! It’s a great show!

      Thanks a lot! I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to see Boruto get some love! I agree completely that it came out of nowhere with something that while adhering to the past of the franchise stands on its own. Truly the biggest surprise of the season for me. I think for me the top would be between Shingeki no Bahamut, Boku no Hero Academia, or Grimoire of Zero (one in which I know I am in the minority on).

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Like prattle I’m pleased to see Tsuki ga Kire so high on your list. I had no idea what to expect when I started watching, but it’s become my top show of spring by some margin!

    I have to confess I haven’t watched any of My Hero Academia yet, but it seems I’m missing out big time, so I’ll have to bump it up my list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My list would be as follows:
    1. Re:Creators
    2. Sagrada Reset
    3. Tsuki ga Kire
    4. Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho/Eromanga-sensei
    5. Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka?
    I think Attack on Titan S2, Shingeki no Bahamut: VIRGIN SOUL, DanMachi: Sword Oratoria, and Boku no Hero Academia S2 kicked ass as well, but I like to give credit to the new anime’s more so than the second seasons. These new ones squared off pretty well against the more popular ones! I hate that some of these shows even got overshadowed by the second seasons. They deserve some love too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a very interesting and awesome list!

      I really wanted to like Sagrada Reset, but it’s been a bit disappointing for me sadly. I haven’t seen beyond episode 2 though, so does it pick up later on maybe?

      I agree that a lot of the sequels overshadowed the new stuff, which is a shame!

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I had more expectations for Boruto, to be honest. The first season of Naruto was pretty exciting and and it’s something I rewatch frequently – and with this new technology, I was hoping for something less…. daily life? (Especially since the first episode kind of shows a major conflict in a few years time… (though that may be related to the Boruto movie which I haven’t watched yet)).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting!

      I personally really like the slice of life moments, since I’ve always wanted to see Naruto and Hinata living a family life and what not, so it’s been right up my alley.

      But with the most recent episode, I suspect things are going to be getting a lot more serious and focused as it goes on. I hope so!

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

