Overall First Impressions + What I’ll Be Watching – Spring 2017

With the new Anime Season in full swing and having done an in depth First Impressions post for each series I feel deserves one/I wanted to do one for, it’s that time of the Season again where I look at everything that’s come out and provide a brief summary of how I feel about them.

As with last season, this time I’ll be splitting everything into tiers, which are described below.

And as you’d expect, with the exception of Attack on Titan and Boruto because girlfriend, I won’t be watching any of these shows on a weekly basis because I kind of hate doing that.

So let’s get rolling!

The Tiers:

  • Incredible – Will Most Definitely Watch: Shows listed under this tier will be shows that I’ll most definitely be watching as soon as possible. These are the shows that currently have me the most invested, that keep me glued to my monitor and that have me literally filled with excitement and suspense from beginning to end, every episode. Shows in here all have the potential to become a member of my favourites (although anything can change over time).
  • Looks Interesting – Will Watch: Shows in this tier will be shows that I’ll be watching at some point because they seem like they could go in interesting directions and I’m looking forward to seeing where they will end up. These are shows that, while they had some issues or didn’t have me fully invested, are still engaging enough to warrant further watching.
  • Decent – Will Carry On With It: Shows that had a lot of issues or didn’t really grab me will be under this tier. I’ll be watching these and enjoying them, but there’s a high chance I’ll be stopping and starting frequently and taking my time with it.
  • Meh – Will Watch Begrudgingly: Shows that are just pretty darn terrible but I feel I should watch for whatever insane or ridiculous reason will be listed here. Watching these shows will no doubt be painful, but I need to persevere for whatever excuse that I’ll no doubt forget upon reaching the halfway point. Of course, things can improve over time. Maybe these will?
  • Not Feeling It – Will Stall For Now: I never drop shows permanently, because my goal is to watch every Anime ever. I’ll never manage to do that in my lifetime, but I’d love to get as close to doing so as possible. However, these shows made me feel nothing, were completely yawn inducing or just had nothing going for me so I’ve put them to the side for god knows how long. I may pick them up again, but it’ll be unlikely to be any time soon.
  • I have Little To Say – The Rest: This is mostly reserved for stuff I generally have no comment on, shows I didn’t check out or second seasons to shows I haven’t seen/have yet to finish.

Now, with all that explained let’s get this under way!

Incredible – Will Most Definitely Watch:

tumblr_o6ouxn7mdp1v2r37ao4_1280

Attack on Titan Season 2  Since I’ve read the Manga chapters that this second season is going to adapt and thoroughly enjoyed them, this second season of the Anime series that took the world by storm almost 4 years ago was more or less guaranteed to make this tier. But despite that, I’m still genuinely surprised by how strong this continuation actually is. The visuals and directing have never been better presented and the narrative is going in some very interesting directions. It’s a little slow, sure, and there’s that deeply concerning 12 episode airtime, but this has potential to surpass the first season, which was a solid show in its own right. Attack on Titan is back, almost like it never left, and that’s a positive in my book. I’ll also be watching this weekly because it’s my girlfriends favourite Anime/Manga, so there’s that too! You can find my in depth First Impressions for Attack on Titan Season 2 here.

My Hero Academia Season 2 – Another sequel and another top tier show that deserves all the praise it’s getting, My Hero Academia Season 2 is fantastic so far. It’s been delivering on its promise of being a pure, fun and energetic battle Shounen series about superheroes with awesome powers while also being unique and creative when it wants to be, tying everything together in a gripping narrative with a gorgeous visual aesthetic. I just hope that Bones keep making this. You can find my in depth First Impressions for My Hero Academia Season 2 here.

Akashic Records of Bastard Magic Instructor – Despite the “it’s derivative” and “this show is so generic” statements that I keep seeing all over the internet, this show is anything but those things and has so far served as an excellent adaptation of a highly self-aware and subversive magical high school Light Novel series. It’s not perfect, and it falls into quite a few pitfalls due to embracing the cliches and archetypes of the very genre its subverting a little too closely at times, but aside from that, the show is great and is highly entertaining. And Glenn is awesome. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Akashic Records of Bastard Magic Instructor here.

Looks Interesting – Will Watch

33d37e1ba084683d4b07b45722ff75791460312022_full

Boruto: Naruto Next Generations – Originally, I had no intention of even checking out Boruto and like many, I brushed it off as a desperate attempt to continue milking the Naruto franchise into the next decade. But after some convincing by my girlfriend, I watched the first two episodes and damn was it a good time. Boruto isn’t particularly unique or special, but there’s so much love put into this series that everything it’s doing feels genuine and far from sleazy, something I didn’t expect at all. On top of that, there’s plenty of interesting story happening already with a ton of lovely nods to the original Naruto cast as well which is fantastic. Boruto is definitely worth the watch, and thanks to my girlfriend, I’ll likely be watching it weekly for however many episodes it ends up being. You can read my in depth First Impressions for Boruto: Naruto Next Generations here.

Is It Wrong To Try To Pick Up Girls In A Dungeon: Sword Oratoria – I enjoyed the original Danmachi series quite a bit, so this spin-off was definitely something I was looking forward to and so far it’s great. It’s first episode had a good amount of crossover with the first episode of the original series, which was super interesting, but it seems like from here onwards it’s going to be its own storyline, something I look forward to seeing develop. It definitely already feels like the side characters this spin-off focuses on will be given a lot more development than in the original show, which I welcome. Great stuff so far.

Sakura Quest – A follow up to Shirobako if there ever was one. While it’s not quite as good as Shirobako yet, it’s still very enjoyable and does a lot of things similarly while still feeling rather fresh. I don’t have much else to say other than it’s good fun and worth watching.

Tsuki ga Kirei – Definitely the underdog of the season. Not a lot of people are talking about this one as of yet, but honestly it’s great so far. It’s a slice of life show with a very mature air and atmosphere to it that makes it stand out from its peers. Definitely a hidden gem this season.

Decent – Will Carry On With It:

tanaka-kun-03-6

Berserk (2017) – I love Berserk. I really do. It’s one of my favourite Manga and is a masterpiece both narratively and aesthetically. Unfortunately this adaptation has failed to meet one of those things by making the visuals almost entirely CGI, and while I don’t think it’s that bad, it still puts a damper on the overall experience. However, as a narrative, Berserk (2017) remains excellent and I’m happy that we’re getting more of it rather than none at all.

Kado: The Right Answer – I’m a little torn on this one. It’s definitely interesting so far and has my full attention, but I have no idea where this is going and I’m hoping for “the right answer” sooner rather than later. Definitely a unique one though and one to keep an eye out for.

Sakurada Reset – I had high hopes for this one. It’s the latest show by David Production, the premise was super interesting and the fans of the original Light Novels had me ridiculously hyped up by telling me it was amazing. And while I still have high hopes for this show and believe that by the end it will have cemented itself as a fantastic show, so far it’s a little dull. The narrative is interesting, but it’s super slow and there’s very little point to everything so far, which I’m hoping changes later on. And those voices. AHHHHH. You can find my in depth First Impressions for Sakurada Reset here.

Rage of Bahamut: Virgin Soul – I liked the original Rage of Bahamut. It didn’t have a lot of depth to it and it was kind of all over the place, but it was fun! Virgin Soul is more of the same, really. It’s not got a whole lot of depth to it. It’s kind of all over the place. It’s fun. And there’s a chick as the main protagonist which makes things a little different I guess? It’s a good time overall.

Eromanga-sensei – This one is a spiritual successor to Oreimo based on a Light Novel that was written by the same guy who wrote Oreimo. It also has incest like Oreimo. However, unlike Oreimo, I’m finding it pretty funny and I’m enjoying it way more than I thought I would. It’s nothing amazing, but it’s a good laugh. Shame about the incest though.

Anonymous Noise – This one is living up to its promises so far and seems like it’ll be that music Anime I’ve been hoping to see forever! Of course, I’m prepared for my dreams to be brutally crushed with a shovel, but for now, it’s doing a good job!

The Royal Tutor – So far this is proving to be a fun and unique little comedy and I’m having a good time with it! Worth checking out for now!

Meh – Will Watch Begrudgingly:

tanaka-kun-02-5

Renai Bouken – I found the concept fascinating, but I’m not really feeling this one at all and most of its humour and general presentation just have me feeling… Nothing… It’s bland, uninteresting and a huge letdown considering its premise. I have hopes it’ll improve, but it looks doubtful.

Granblue Fantasy – I love the aesthetic of this series, but that’s about all it has going for it so far. The narrative is forgettable and generic and I just don’t care about the characters so far. It looks great, but there’s little else keeping me interested here. Shame too, we could use a good Fantasy series right about now. Perhaps it’ll get better as it goes on!

Clockwork Planet – So far this series has done everything that people are accusing Akashic Record of doing, only it’s actually been doing them. Literally every Light Novel cliche you could think of has been bundled into a series in the case of Clockwork Planet and it’s just a little sad. I’ve heard from fans of the novels that it picks itself up however, so I’ll do my best to remain optimistic for a few more episodes.

Alice to Zouroku – I’m definitely not the audience for these kinds of shows, so I honestly just don’t really care about this one all that much. Also that CGI car chase was absolutely horrendous.

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka? – Looooooong title. This one is… Meh? The title is the most memorable thing about the show so far. That’s all I have to say, really.

Quan Zi Gao Shou – These Chinese co-productions are always terrible, but this one is about e-sports and actually looks like it could get super interesting. However, aside from the premise and potential for development, so far there’s been nothing here that I’d consider amazing. There’s a cool idea here, but it doesn’t seem like it’s going to be used in an interesting way and that’s a real shame.

Not Feeling It – Will Stall For Now:

tanaka-kun-07-5

Armed Girls Machiavellism – This seemed interesting. It wasn’t interesting. I need to finish it now that I’ve started though. Dammit!

Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai – Wanna know what’s worse than a plotless ecchi that focuses on personified female versions of the Seven Deadly Sins? A censored plotless ecchi that focuses on personified female versions of the Seven Deadly Sins. The censorship strips away (no pun intended) what little entertainment this series could have had. Guess we’ll all be waiting for the Blu-Rays. Again.

Tsugumomo – Definitely haven’t seen this plot before. Oh wait…

Gin no Guardian – Another Chinese co-production, only without the interesting premise or potential to become something worthwhile. CHINA.

Hinako Note – Cute girls eating cute books.

Souryo to Majiwaru Shikiyoku no Yoru ni… – Remember when I joked about this being a Hentai? Well, it turns out it is a Hentai if you watch the uncensored version. That was funny.

Frame Arms Girl – Literally an advertisement for model kits. I’m not into model kits so…

Room Mate – I’d say that, for me, this is even worse than One Room because I’m a straight guy. What’s worse is that I’ll be finishing this because I don’t drop shows. HELP.

I have Little To Say – The Rest:

maxresdefault-1

Re:Creators – I haven’t watched it yet.

Grimoire of Zero – See above.

Saekano: How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend Flat – I haven’t watched the first season and likely won’t be getting round to it any time soon.

Natsume Yuujinchou Roku – I haven’t seen the previous 50 seasons of Natsume, so I haven’t watched this yet. I look forward to getting round to it all one day though.

The Eccentric Family Season 2 – I’m planning on starting the first season after I finish a few other shows I’m planning to marathon, so I’ll get round to this soon.

Sekai no Yami Zukan – I like these things, but I haven’t seen any of this one yet.

Atom: The Beginning – This super interesting and really awesome looking show is exclusive to Anime Strike. Therefore I will not be watching it because Anime Strike is evil and deserves no support because its paywall is both shady and ridiculous. Sorry, Atom.

Kyoukai no Rinne Season 3 – Still haven’t finished the first season. Still don’t care for this series much.

Starmyu Season 2 – Never heard of it. Never seen it.

Yu-Gi-Oh VRAINS –  it’s time to d-d-d-d-duel! …I miss the good old days of Duel Monsters and GX…

Cinderella Girls Gekijou – Cute.

Kaitou Senshi Twin Angel – Index Season 3 J.C Staff?

Love Kome: We Love Rice – I’m still amazed that today we live in a world where an Anime about anthropomorphised rice is a thing that exists. Jesus Christ.

Beyblade Burst God – THAT’S BEEEEEYYYYBLAAAAADEEEEEE!!! *doo doo doo doo doo doo doo doo dah dah dah dah*

Duel Masters (2017) – THAT’S DUEEELLL MAAAA- …Did Duel Masters have a theme song from my childhood that I should remember? Probably not.

Future Card Buddyfight Vanguard – It’s time to d-d-d… VANGUARD!

Mobile Suit Gundam: Twilight Axis – I forgot about this. Whoops.

And that’s a wrap!

d03409cdcc10b7991f1162342e380988

What are your first impressions and what are you watching this Season?

3 thoughts on “Overall First Impressions + What I’ll Be Watching – Spring 2017

  1. LOL Roommate threw me for a loop, I was like..wtf..well I started it…I’m going to finish it..yay ani-masochists! LOL. clockwork planet is….ehhh..for me. My watch list is pretty sparse too. Time to finish up some unfinished or backlogged shows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

