The Listless List: 5 Worst Anime of Winter 2017

Like every Anime Season, the Winter 2017 Season had several shows that just didn’t quite meet the cut or wound up being fairly disappointing.

And today, we’re going to take a look at 5 shows that, for me, ended up being just that!

Note: These picks are just my own opinions and are only based on shows I watched. Feel free to share your own in the comments!

5. Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Arc

83418l

I think it’s safe to say that I don’t like Blue Exorcist very much. It’s unoriginal, uninspiring and just far too cliche for me to consider it worth my time above all the other countless Shounen stories about slaying demons and monsters.

And the Kyoto Arc did very little to sway my stance.

Not only does this new season retcon a large portion of the original series, it doesn’t really add much to it either nor is it a significant improvement over the “filler” content that it replaced.

With abysmal pacing, poor execution and overused character tropes, Blue Exorcist’s new season was hardly worth the wait. However, considering I was never a fan of the series to begin with, you could argue that I’m being a tad unfair.

Those production values were sweet though. I can’t deny that.

4. Saga of Tanya the Evil

82890l

Continuing the recently established trend of “every season must have an obligatory alternative history show”, Saga of Tanya the Evil is a gorefest of magic, world wars and loli’s.

And that’s about all there is to it. There’s not a lot of depth to Tanya, and it struggled to keep me invested throughout its run, which is unfortunate, because I’m normally a big fan of these alternative history focused shows.

I will say though, that the action was enjoyable enough, despite the lack of depth.

3. Fuuka

83735l

Fuuka was a fairly generic romance that while charming and fun at times, had very little going for it from the get go.

Its characters were fairly uninteresting and the overarching narrative, while genuine in its execution, just wasn’t all that engrossing, and in a romance series, those are the two most important elements.

I guess it also doesn’t help that I expected this series to have more of a focus on the musical side of the plot as well, similar to Kids on the Slope, but that never turned out to be case, and instead we were left with nothing but a somewhat hollow romance.

But the real kicker here is the handling of the adaptation towards the end, where the director made the incredibly misguided and, dare I say, stupid decision to change the ending by removing the death of a very major character.

And as a result of keeping this character alive, the remainder of the story was altered for the worse, and the impact that this death had was removed entirely, along with every trace of uniqueness the original source material had.

Fuuka just feels forgettable. I won’t be remembering it any time soon. We could have had something great, Fuuka.

2. Hand Shakers

83395l

One day studio GoHands will learn how to write a script.

That day, is not today and Hand Shakers is most definitely not a showcase of any competent writing skills they may have.

As with all GoHands shows, like K Project, the concept is cool and interesting, but the execution falls flat due to a poorly handled script, terrible exposition and some awful bland characters that just aren’t interesting at all.

But to make matters worse, the usually beautiful GoHands aesthetic is also gone. The visuals in Hand Shakers are absolutely dreadful. They feel like something out of your worst psychedelic nightmares. They were so trippy that I actually had to lay down for 20 minutes to relieve my eyes from the visual monstrosity playing out in front of me. This is not a joke. I had headaches.

1. Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid

83173l

But what can be worse than an Anime that gives you literal headaches?

A Kyoto Animation show about a cute dragon girl doing cute maid things, that’s what.

It’s no secret that I’m not the biggest fan of Kyoto Animation. I’ve never been a fan of their aesthetic, I’ve never enjoyed any of their “stories” and I just really can’t stand the majority of shows with a focus on “cute girls doing cute things”.

I get it. This stuff has an audience. A very big audience. An audience that doesn’t include me. I’m fine with that.

But I don’t see the appeal in this stuff. For me, there is none, and it’s really just not for me. I struggled to care about anything with this series and it just felt “very Kyoto Animation”.

The visuals were fantastic, I’ll give it that, but it does very little with those visuals beyond being cute and fuzzy in a way that just feels nauseating.

Perhaps one day I’ll find the Kyoto Animation show that will turn me to the dark side of moe, but Kobayashi is not that show.

Better luck next time, KyoAni.

db9ad334b9eeb1c826b3160ad8133c7724211a77_hq

Share your favourites:

What were your least favourite shows from the Winter 2017 Anime Season? Feel free to share yours in the comments!

What’s Next?

I’ll get back to you guys on that one!

5 thoughts on “The Listless List: 5 Worst Anime of Winter 2017

  1. I must admit I enjoyed The Saga of Tanya the Evil more pass the 6th episode, starting to the 7th episode I could clearly recognize operation that happen during the WWII and the History nerd in me really enjoyed it. By the way the 12th episode end I can tell a 2nd season might eventually come. The US is come into play.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’re a history buff then I don’t blame you for enjoying the show, it seems like it’d really appeal to that crowd!

      I still found the show fun, but unfortunately it wasn’t strong enough to be a classic.

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dragon Maid was probably my favorite show of the season for a lot of different reasons, and I’m hoping to write a post about it soon to explain why, but if you’re just not a big fan of the Kyoto style then I can’t really argue with that.

    I haven’t been following your blog for very long, so I don’t know a lot about you or what you look for in anime, but out of curiosity, could you maybe expand on what you mean by “lack of depth”, in regards to Youjo Senki? It’s definitely not one of my favorites of the season, but I got a lot out of it besides it being a fun alternate history joyride. Maybe we just have different qualifications for what gives a show “depth”.

    The only other show I watched from your list is Fuuka, which was an utter disaster.

    Like

  3. “I just really can’t stand the majority of shows with a focus on ‘cute girls doing cute things’.”
    The friend that introduced me to anime LOVES those shows and I, like you, can’t stand them, but whatever. To each their own!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

