Update: The Future of the Weekly Watch

As you can no doubt tell from the title, this is an update post. I’ll keep it short and sweet because I don’t want to dwell too much on this, but I feel I should post an update here so everyone’s up to speed.

It’s about the Weekly Watch series on this blog. More specifically the future of it.

As some of you have no doubt noticed, I’ve been discussing this subject quite a bit recently on Twitter and when chatting with other bloggers. And after much consideration and asking for everyone’s thoughts on what I should do, I’ve finally come to a decision.

I’m going to stop doing the Weekly Watch.

For once, this isn’t out of laziness and I actually have some legitimate reasons as to why I’ve decided to stop the series indefinitely.

First of all, it’s taking up far too much of my blogging time. I work a full time job from 8 to 5 on the weekdays, and I’m often really tired by the time I make the commute home and get settled down. Because of this, I tend to make a post every 2 days, as opposed to every day to give myself some downtime and allow me to come up with some great ideas for future posts while I’m relaxing.

But with the Weekly Watch, I haven’t had a lot of breathing space to publish any of those great ideas. I want to post them, but because the Weekly Watch is on a tight schedule due to the weekly nature of watching and posting about each episode, they often take priority. I could do them in between Weekly Watch days, and I’ve definitely tried to, but without that day of downtime in between posts, I’ve often been too tired or lacked the focus to want to write those down great ideas. And I want to write everything when I’m at my best.

And while we’re on the subject, the schedule is also something that I’ve been getting more and more uncomfortable with. Needing to be constantly up to date with whatever show I’m writing about was beginning to pressure me. I often felt rushed to write about the most recent episode, and as you can probably tell from my consistently poor sleep schedule: I don’t like schedules. I like to go with the flow and just write about whatever is in my head at the time.

And much of the time, my thoughts on the most recent episode of whatever show I was meant to write about wasn’t what was on my mind.

Finally, I guess the main reason is that I feel that doing the Weekly Watch has been restricting me creatively as a writer. There’s only so much I can say in a weekly review of a shows most recent episode until I merely begin to repeat myself every week. I want to get better at writing and I want to focus on more in depth posts, like my Lethargic Rambles.

Part of the reason I started this blog was to express myself more creatively. I stopped being a MyAnimeList reviewer because I wanted to go beyond the scope of simply reviewing something and I wanted to become more analytical and take a deeper approach to Anime beyond giving it a score or simply sharing another opinion.

But with the Weekly Watch, I feel I haven’t been given a whole lot of opportunities to do that.

I want to focus on bigger and more in depth projects. I recently did a post comparing the Manga and Anime adaptation of Aku no Hana. That is, in my opinion, the best thing I’ve posted on this blog and the post I enjoyed writing the most.

I want to do more posts like that because I simply enjoy writing them more and I feel that stopping the Weekly Watch will allow me to focus more on posts like that.

This may be coming across as a fairly negative post, but it really isn’t. I enjoyed writing the Weekly Watch and I don’t regret doing it at all. But I’d like to focus my time on bigger and more exciting projects, which judging from some feedback I’ve had, many of you would prefer I do anyway.

I’m sorry to those that enjoyed these posts. I’m sure you’ll no doubt be a little disappointed. However, I do plan on doing an in depth post on both Scum’s Wish and elDLIVE when they’re finished. Call it a “review” if you will. Stay tuned for those in the coming weeks.

With that being said, I hope you all understand. Stay tuned for more and thank you for the support as always!

tanaka-kun-01

9 thoughts on “Update: The Future of the Weekly Watch

  1. I think it is a good decision on your part. It is always difficult to maintain a schedule, and at times real life catches up to you, and it becomes even harder to keep up with the schedule. I myself have been toying with the idea of trying to make a kind of regular posting, for my own blog, but I have decided against it. I love blogging, but I just don’t want to feel pressure when I can’t make a post, or have a bad day where I just can’t find the right focus to do a post.
    So, going back to what you are writing here..I understand how you feel, and blogging just has to stay fun. And so far, reading your posts has been a lot of fun, no matter what they are about. So I guess what I am trying to say is..keep up the great work, and do the things and posts you like to write about 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot for the support!

      With the feedback I’ve received it seems that this decision was the right one to make and that many of my readers just want to see me write about the things I want to write about and that’s really nice.

      I enjoyed doing the posts, but it began to feel like a chore as it went on, and I never want blogging to feel like that. I always want to enjoying doing it, after all, that’s why I started in the first place.

      Thanks for the continued support!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pretty much understand where you’re coming from. Like yourself, I don’t keep a schedule now xDD. I did at one point in time. Then, after awhile I got tired of trying to keep up. As you can probably tell with my izetta and great passage, they come out whenever. It’s your blog, run it how you see fit. your readers will understand your circumstances.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s amazing how much we think alike sometimes.

    I felt a lot of the same things you talked about here. Our episodic reviews didn’t have your word count (shorter posts were rare on my blog until this season :P) but we started with 10 of them and are still holding onto 7 now. It takes up a lot of time to do them and a lot of pressure to stay on schedule, especially since finding a comfortable groove has proved impossible with work and life demanding priority.

    We’ll finish out the Winter season but we won’t do this anymore in Spring. I could really use the extra time to work on some of those things I promised I would post about at the beginning of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hear hear! I can’t do the weekly watch as much either anymore. It was a nice attempt. I’ll probably still keep the title “This Week in Anime” but it’ll most likely be about one or two I just happened to watch but not tied necessarily to the season! Looking forward to the future posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

