Let’s Talk About: Pushing Your Tastes

tanaka-kun-09-35

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these posts. I was originally going to make this a Lethargic Ramble, but since this relates more to own recent experience with the Anime community, and less relates to a broader idea that I can encapsulate within the medium itself; here we are!

So let’s talk about taste. Each and every single one of us has a taste: a preference for the things we like.

Some people, like my girlfriend, really like to eat cereal for breakfast, whereas others, such as myself, prefer to eat toast and boiled eggs as their choice of meal in the early hours of the day.

Many people have tastes that are commonplace, such as liking cheese on their pizza, while other people have very weird and specific tastes, such as not liking cheese on their pizza (me).

But we’re not here to talk about food preferences. We’re here to talk about Anime! More specifically, the different tastes in Anime and what’s really been bugging me about the subject of taste in Anime.

Every single Anime fan has a unique taste. Every taste is unique to the individual, and I firmly believe that no two tastes are exactly alike. This is natural of course when you take into account that everyone has their own opinions, thoughts and feelings of what they consider to be “good” or “enjoyable” or whatever it is they deem to be the factor that decides what they watch and why they watch it.

Yet, there are people that just can’t seem to accept this idea. They slam the tastes of those they don’t agree with and flaunt their self-proclaimed superiority all over whatever bloody online platform they choose to flex their ego to others on.

And what’s sad is that these people have no grasp on the idea of subjectivity. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again: Taste is not objective.

It’s not like forcing your tastes on others who don’t agree with you is something new. We all know this is a thing that exists. We’ve all seen it. Heck, I’m sure in some form or another, we’ve all been a part of it at some point. I know I was a good few years ago. I frequently did so when I was younger. And when all was said and done, I felt like a real nasty piece of work. I was a child who didn’t understand how to properly engage in a discussion without being an egotistical moron. But I’m an adult now and I’ve grown up a lot since then.

I get it, people like feeling some kind of gratification by putting themselves on an imaginary pedestal and going:

“Well! You like Sword Art Online and that show is for idiots! Meanwhile, I’ll be here, watching the real Anime for true Anime fans!” – Actual thing that someone said to me

I’m all for discussing opinions and tastes. I do it all the time on Twitter, the Facebook group I’m a part of and even right here on this blog. I’m not against people discussing their differences and I’m certainly not telling people to be solely positive, because that’s just as nauseating as the constant negativity I keep seeing.

What I am against, is forcing your tastes and opinions on other people. I don’t care how superior you think your taste is, or how much you disagree with me, you are not going to change my mind. Especially if you’re being condescending or nasty about it.

I don’t care if you think that Little Witch Academia is the best show of the season and if you think ēlDLIVE is a generic cookie-cutter Shounen that is completely bland and uninteresting in every way possible. But don’t try to tell me I’m wrong for thinking the exact opposite and that I have “bad taste”.

“Bad taste” is not a thing. If you told me you liked a food I didn’t enjoy the taste of, would you find it ridiculous if I told you that your taste in food is bad? Don’t even try to tell me you wouldn’t. That’s an absurd thing to say. So why the heck are people not applying this logic to entertainment?

I see this everywhere, particularly on Twitter, all the damn time. People will be talking about their favourite shows of the season or a show they recently watched that they enjoyed, and you’ll always get that one person who feels the need to go: “You have awful taste! How could you possibly enjoy that show? Go watch this show instead!”

Or when I show disinterest in a show or claim to find it hard to enjoy a specific genre of Anime, I’ll have people talking down to me for not liking it. They’ll say things along the lines of “Just watch it!”or “How can you not enjoy the best genre in Anime?” Well, maybe I don’t want to watch it. Maybe I’m not interested or engaged enough to finish it. Maybe I don’t like that genre because I’ve spent years being disappointed time and time again, and approach it with a great deal of caution as a result. I like what I like and you’re not going to sway me or change my mind by shoving what you like down my throat.

I disagree with people a lot. I have weird opinions that a lot of people don’t agree with and I have a very questionable taste that has raised several eyebrows over the many years I’ve engaged with this community. Despite that, I always stand by the things I say and I stay true to what I believe in. However, I will never force my preferences or opinions on anyone, and I’ll gladly brush off anyone who tries to do the same to me.

I get it. Some people just want everyone to agree with their tastes and see things the way they do, but wouldn’t that be kind of boring? One of the most interesting things about being a fan of this medium, is the seemingly endless sea of different and unique opinions and perspectives. Seeing a show through the eyes of someone who had a completely different kind of experience from your own is a real treat and I find it absolutely fascinating, even if I don’t agree with them. It’s their perspective, it’s their experience and it’s their taste. Let them have it and continue to have yours.

Diversity keeps the community interesting and has generated some of the most engaging discussions I’ve ever had the pleasure of taking part in with fellow Anime fans. We wouldn’t have those things if everything was uniform and everyone had the same tastes. That’d be boring.

No persons taste is superior to anyone else’s. Your taste is a part of who you are, it’s your identity as an Anime fan, and no one should ever have the power to change that.

Don’t try and push your tastes on others.

tumblr_o65jw8RLR31uwgq82o1_1280.jpg
Be a happy bunny cookie instead.

 

8 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: Pushing Your Tastes

  1. Firstly, you’re right! Everyone has different tastes. I see a lot of bloggers who like shows that are very different from the ones that I watch and that’s okay! I mean, if someone told me that my taste was bad because I am a sparkly shoujo girl, I’d be like… “Ooookay then..” and move about my merry way because that’s not for them to decide.

    Likewise, I don’t like mecha at all, but there are a lot of people who swear by Gundam and Full Metal Panic and that’s also absolutely fine because, as you said, we are all unique and hold different tastes.

    I met some bloggers on Twitter who like shoujo but also like boy love. I am not a fan of the latter (boy love), but we can geek out together about the former, and it’s really fun. 🙂

    I guess I’m just saying that I agree with you, is all. We don’t have to pick fights just because people don’t hold our views. Let it be, right? You’re probably not going to change a die-hard fan’s mind about their genre and really do you need to? Nope. 🙂

    Thanks for posting your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s nice that everyone has their own tastes and opinions and like you I find it very strange when people try to say that their taste is better than someone else’s. Taste is entirely personal and half the time the person in question won’t know why they like or dislike something, they just do. There’s really no point in arguing about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, the whole practice of arguing about opinions is pointless. You can’t change someones opinion just because you don’t agree with it.

      I love seeing the different opinions in the community. Seeing all these different perspectives is just really fascinating to me.

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like you took a similar position when talking about the awards a few posts back.

    Once again, this is why I avoid channels where I get the unfiltered nonsense of people who have more interest in insulting me than actually discussing with me. Seriously, I have better things to do with my time than argue with kids who confuse opinion with fact. Like Karandi said above, there’s no point.

    WordPress allows you to reject comments of block people from posting on your blog, but I’ve never once had to censor anyone. I don’t know what it is about this channel that makes people better behaved, but it’s really comforting to feel like people engage me in a civil way here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, this is definitely a follow-up to some of the ideas presented in that post.

      It’s one of the reasons why I left MyAnimeList and moved here. MAL has so much negativity and childishness going on in its community that I honestly find it baffling. There’s no point in doing that, at all.

      Granted, I’ve met a handful of WordPress Bloggers who act the same (who will remain nameless because I’m not that guy), but they’re a minority and it’s easy to ignore them because they’re such a minority.

      I will agree though, I’ve never had to censor anyone on here, since the majority of comments have always been positive, even if people disagree, and I appreciate that. It’s a nice change from the nonsense I put up with back in my reviewing days.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I could not agree with you more. Taste is something different for everyone, and that is exactly what makes life in general so interesting. The other day I was talking with a friend about the new Mad Max movie. I absolutely loved that one: he hated it. I never got in argument at all, I was just very amused how different taste can be. It is all just a matter of opinion, and I always respect people’s choices.
    When people get mad about someone else’s opinion, it tells more about that other person’s personality. If you don’t have the power to respect another person’s choice than I personally think you should not even try and attempt to start a blog, review site or whatever else it is you start. A healthy discussion about a series I do enjoy mind you, and again here it comes down to how you talk to another person. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those are definitely the best kind of discussions to have: friendly but still a good chat about what you disagree with.

      I agree with that. If you aren’t willing to accept that people have different tastes and are just out there to argue with people you have no business being a blogger. Why start a blog or become a critic if you’re just going to make fun of other peoples opinions and hammer your tastes into them? It’s dumb.

      I’m glad you share the same mindset and enjoyed my post! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. “Variety is the greatest spice of life.” It’s a quote that I live by, so I thought I’d share it with you. I enjoy sampling all of the vastly different “flavors” of anime there are out there. Now, a “taste” would develop once I’ve noticed a growing trend in a specific genre of anime that I enjoy. Recommendation is a wonderful thing, but, as you said, pushing tastes onto others is not so much. Instead of seeing what shows we like differently, why don’t more people advocate the similarities they share with others? Then you get a network going, kinda like what we have here on WP. Pretty thoughtful post you’ve got here, Lethargic Ramblings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

