Pre-Airing Impressions: Winter 2017 Anime Season

The end of the year is upon us, and with the New Year rolling in there comes yet another Anime Season of promising shows.

I normally avoid trying to make impressions about shows before they air, but I thought it’d be fun to give a rundown of the upcoming season and my thoughts on said shows.

So here we go!

Konosuba Season 2 – The first season of Konosuba was an unexpected hit for me last year and one of the funniest series that I’ve seen in a long time. I’ll be looking forward to seeing how this second season will add to the overall narrative while still being equally as hilarious as the first season. Oh and of course I’ll be looking forward to more explosions!

Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Arc – I really didn’t like Blue Exorcist. In fact, I hated it. It was awful in my opinion. It was a really bad fighting Shounen that felt like a significantly worse version of D. Gray Man. It lacked any uniqueness and had far too much Slice of Life antics and cheesy characterisation for me to ever consider taking it seriously. This is a continuation of the original series that supposedly adapts one of the later arcs in the Manga. Since I dropped the original Blue Exorcist after 10 episodes and it’s unlikely I’ll ever pick it up again, so I think it’s safe to say that I won’t be watching this. Happy for the fans though.

Masamune-Kun’s Revenge – As a Manga reader, I can safely say that this show is going to be a fantastic comedy with a very unique and interesting premise along solid characters who have a fantastic chemistry. If it stays true to the Manga, and gets a full adaptation like I suspect it will, this could wind up being one of my favourites of the year. It’s funny, charming and very entertaining. Let’s hope Silver Link do it justice.

Scum’s Wish – I love dark and twisted Manga about psychologically messed up people going down the road of self-destruction. Among my favourites are Aku no Hana and Oyasumi Punpun. Scum’s Wish is another Manga, that while not as dark as those two series, shares a lot of the same elements. It’s emotionally twisted and very messed up in a lot of ways with some serious emotional stakes, and I sincerely hope that this Anime adaptation does the source material justice. It’s being adapted by Lerche, who created a very dark atmospheric tone with Ranpo Kitan: Game of Laplace, so hopefully they’ll pull off a similar mood with this series. This has the chance to be the Anime of the season, especially if we get a full adaptation.

Little Witch Academia – I haven’t seen the original movies, mostly because of this series which is apparently going to retell the stories of those movies and expand on them, so I have no idea how good this is going to be. I’m not as big as a Trigger fan as most people seem to be, but they’ve put out some pretty good shows recently, so I have high hopes for this one.

Chaos;Child – I’ve only seen a small amount of Chaos;Head. I own it on DVD, but I’ve never gotten around to watching it all. As such, I’ll probably be giving this a miss until I finish Chaos;Head.

Hand Shakers – Every time I see that something is made by GoHands, my first thoughts are “This is probably going to look stunning but the story is going to be something weird that involves different superpowered teams battling against one another for some abstract goal”. Hand Shakers is probably going to look stunning but the story is going to be something weird that involves different superpowered teams battling against one another for some abstract goal.

Gintama. – Gintama is pretty great. I’m only on episode 60 something of the first series, but I’m sure this season will be just as great as everything else Gintama that came before it. Maybe this time the series will actually end.

Tales of Zestiria the X (2017) – You already know how much I didn’t care for the first season of this show. I also don’t care for any continuation of it. The game is better and this offers nothing that the game does not. Looks lovely though, I’ll give it that.

Seiren – I can’t seem to find anything on what this is about. All I know is that it’ll be told in an omnibus format and that the staff behind it has me intrigued.

Fuuka – Seems like a pretty standard Ecchi series. Doesn’t seem like my thing, but it’s by Diomedea, so I’ll give it a go.

Rewrite Season 2 – The first season of this was a boring and incoherent mess that really didn’t grab me at all. Unless this one has some dramatic changes, it will most likely be the same.

Super Lovers 2 – I dropped the first season after episode 1… Yeah…

ACCA – I’ve heard some good things about this one, so I’ll be checking out based purely on hearsay. Also Madhouse.

Interviews with Monster Girls – Are Monster Girls the recent trend in Japan or something? This looks like it could be pretty cute and funny, so I’ll be checking it out.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju Season 2 – The first season was incredible, so I’m really looking forward to this. Hopefully it’ll continue the shows trend of being a solid, dramatic, character driven narrative. I have high hopes for this continuation.

Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid – It’s a Kyoto Animation show about a dragon girl maid. I probably won’t enjoy it because Kyoto Animation. Could wind up being fun though.

Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation – I haven’t seen the first two seasons, but I’m sure it’ll please fans of the series. I’ll get round to it some day.

Chain Chronicle – This show looks pretty cool from the few things I’ve seen. However, it’s a Mobile game adaptation, and we all know those never seem to turn out great. Who knows though, maybe it’ll be fun.

ēlDLIVE – This series is a fighting Shounen that serves as the spiritual successor to Katekyo Hitman Reborn!, which is one of my Top 10 Anime series. It’s by the same artist, has a similar aesthetic and is contains just as many awesome and unique ideas as her first work, and as a result, I am incredibly hyped for this series. If it lives up to the quality of its predecessor, ēlDLIVE could wind up being the best thing to come out in its season, or all of 2017. I have extremely high hopes for this one, and it’s definitely going to be an underdog this season, since no one has even remotely cared to acknowledge its existence at all. I urge you all to check it out, and I look forward to gushing about it in a First Impressions post at the start of the season. Also, it’d be great if it was ongoing. We deserve more than 1 cour of this.

Urara Meirochō – This seems like a unique little Slice of Life that could be really fun. I don’t have much else to say on this one other than I’m looking forward to it.

Spiritpact – Hey look! It’s another Chinese Manga adaptation by that studio that made Bloodivores and Hitori no Shita! We all know how amazing these have turned out to be so far! Maybe this will be the one that finally breaks the trend of these adaptations being painful and boring to watch and we’ll end up with something great. A man can dream…

One Room – A series of shorts about three sisters being raised in “your” room apparently… This sounds weird and creepy.

Minami Kamakura High School Girls Cycling Club – It’s Yowamushi Pedal: Girls Edition. I guess I see the appeal?

And that’s all I have to comment on this season. We have a pretty scarce selection this season compared to last, but most of the shows look very promising or are continuations of already well established franchises, so it looks like it’ll be a pretty solid season.

I know I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how all of these shows turn out!

OaXm8k4.png
I ain’t looking forward to the Winter rain though…

What are you most looking forward to next season?

26 thoughts on “Pre-Airing Impressions: Winter 2017 Anime Season

  1. I’m still not sure what I am looking forward to and probably won’t start deciding until I see what comes out on Crunchyroll in Australia and whether AnimeLab picks up anything new. I must admit though, Winter isn’t looking awesome. While I am looking forward to a few continuing anime in 2017 I don’t think any of them are coming out in Winter. I will probably continue with Super Lovers just to see at this point but otherwise I will wait and see.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phew…still a pretty long list of shows lol 😀 As I have still so many things to catch up on anyway, I will wait for the reviews to start, until I start adding things to my “to watch novel” Which is already starting to turn more into an encyclopedia, if I am being totally honest 😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Among others I also look forward to Scum’s Wish but sadly I’m not very optimistic about it. For now I just can’t imagine how they can make the manga justice without being as explicit as generally anime tends to avoid being.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. “I love dark and twisted Manga about psychologically messed up people going down the road of self-destruction.”

    I-I’m not the only one! I’m pumped for Scum’s Wish too!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I am looking forward to the ‘last’ (at least according to MAL) season of Gintama, Shouwa Genroku’s second season, Konosuba’s second season and Little Witch Academia the most. I’ll also be looking for a good SoL anime for my lazy evenings. There seems to be a lot of sequels this season.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the run down. 🙂 I wish we had more shoujo to pick from, but it is what it is.
    About “Blue Exocsit:” It isn’t my favorite show. I’m probably not going to watch any new material. I didn’t get through the original, but I did watch some of it because it was easy to get to (thank you, Netflix), and it wasn’t all bad, I didn’t think. Just not my type of show, as it were. Didn’t get any romance, but the brother-I-resent-but-also-love-you thing is cool.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah sadly not a lot of Shoujo in this upcoming season which is a real shame! Hope you still find something good to watch!

      And yeah, I’m sure it’s just me who had issues with it. As a humongous fan of fighting Shounen Anime, Blue Exorcist just felt pretty bad when compared to other shows of the genre, such as Hunter x Hunter and D Gray Man. I get why it had a lot of fans though!

      Thanks for reading Shoujo!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Im looking forward to masamune-kun’s revenge and Scums wish. I actually just started reading scum’s wish so i’m curious how this will be animated! I’m behind on all my posts. hopefully friday I’ll have my 2017 list up and my 2016 awards out tomorrow.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Glad someone else has similar taste!

      As a reader of the Manga I’m hoping that they don’t censor specific scenes. If we can get an adaptation like this in all its uncensored glory there’s a chance we’ll get more manga like this being adapted in the future.

      Masamune-Kun is also pretty fun too. It’s very comedic, but it’s characters have great chemistry and it’s an interesting take on the “harem comedy” genre by having some genuinely touching moments.

      And I know the feeling D: Good luck! I’m looking forward to it!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

