I got nominated for the Unique Blogger Award

Hey would you look at that, another award nomination! Sweet!

Once again, I’d like to thank Ava over at Reads, Rhythms and Ruminations for nominating me for this award of uniqueness. She has an awesome blog with some great posts and you should all check it out!

The Rules:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you [x]
  • Answer the questions [x]
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award [I’ll do 8 because I’m lazy]
  • Ask them three questions [x]

The Questions:

1. If you could get a chance to visit a fictional world, which one would it be?

HorribleSubsHunterXHunter-148480pmkv_snapshot_0853_20140924_075244.png

That’s easy, I’d visit the Hunter x Hunter world, and if possible, I’d live the rest of my days there.

The world seems like it’d be a ridiculously peaceful place to live, provided you choose to live a peaceful life. But I could also risk my life to take the Hunter Exam, pass it, get a Hunter License, then live the rest of my days doing whatever I want with my newly acquired Hunter status.

Leorio managed to pass the exam, so I’m sure I’d have a fighting chance… Right…?

I could sleep forever and when I’m motivated, I could go travelling and see and do amazing things in a world full of surreal and incredibly awesome sights! That’s my kind of world!

I’d need to avoid the criminals and gigantic monsters though… But hey! Everything has its downsides!

2. What is your least favourite book/anime?

tanaka-kun-12-3

Least Favourite Anime: 

free_promotional_image_1

I very rarely use the word “hate” when describing something I didn’t enjoy, but I honestly, really hated Free! and everything it stood for. It is the pure embodiment of everything I dislike the most in Anime from its character archetypes, to its distracting use of fan-service, to its incredibly drawn out pacing all the way to its sheer lack of character development and tendency to focus on just about everything other than what should be important. It’s a show about swimming, yet they hardly swim and spend too much time fooling around in typical slice of life shenanigans, much like K-ON! did with its focus of starting a band and playing music, and I really hated that.

I’m not a fan of Kyoto Animation’s aimless Slice of Life styled shows, and Free! took every element I dislike about them and increased them all tenfold.

I get why people like Free!, but I didn’t. I really, really, really couldn’t stand the show at all. It was terrible and I will never, ever watch it again.

Sorry Free! fans. Don’t mind me!

Unfortunately I don’t read anywhere near as much as I used to, and I’ve enjoyed just about every single book I’ve ever read, so choosing a least favourite just isn’t possible!

3. Name the funniest book/anime you’ve read/watched.

Funniest Anime I’ve watched:

78565l

It’s difficult for an Anime series to make me laugh out loud. Whether it be a funny scene in a non-comedic series, or a show that actually falls into the Comedy genre, most “jokes” tend to go over my head and if they do hit, I normally just crack a smile.

But Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless had me in stitches almost every time it fired a joke at me. There were even moments I was literally crying with laughter because of how funny some of the scenes were. I mostly found this stuff funny, because it was genuinely how I often acted back when I was a high school student and felt narcoleptic every day. Class would be over, and I’d be struggling to get up out of my seat with my head on the desk. Or during P.E, I’d avoid the warm-up by skipping to the end or I’d hide in the corner so I didn’t have to expend energy playing football or basketball or whatever it was we were doing that day.

Tanaka’s antics were very much the same as my own back in high school, and that’s why I find them so funny. They bring a smile to my face because I’m reminded of how darn silly I probably looked to everyone else in my class back then, and that very notion just makes everything about this show seem much more hilarious to me than it probably, actually is.

My Nominations:

I’m lazy, so I’m only picking 8 people. Sorry if you’ve been nominated before, I’m awful at keeping track of these things!

  1. Plainpastaandplainrice from Plain Pasta and Plain Rice
  2. Heyitszel from ARCHI-ANIME
  3. Kapodaco from Criticism and Thoughts
  4. Rocco B from In the Cubbyhole
  5. NEETaku from Just… My 2 Cents
  6. Scott from Mechanical Anime Reviews
  7. Elisabeth O’Neill from Little Anime Blog
  8. Shoujo from Shoujo Thoughts

My Questions:

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

What is your favourite genre of Anime and why?

Assuming you play video games, what’s your preferred platform of choice?

Yeah, I suck at questions. Sorry guys!

Thanks for reading all!

yjwjvah
Back to the couch and Anime!
12 thoughts on “I got nominated for the Unique Blogger Award

  1. Congrats and I really haven’t seen Free lol.. Never thought it would be my style.. And yea.. Tanaka is actually trying be a side character in his own life.. It made be always laugh whenever I think about that anime or even try to pick up an umbrella, his weird ideas always were over-the-top comedy to me and wonderful choice for a planet to live in. lol 😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wasn’t particularly mine either, but I checked out it because the idea of a series about swimming seemed interesting, until it wasn’t about swimming and was just about half naked bishounens doing nothing but fool around and not swim… Ugh.

      And yeah haha, he sure is!

      I loved that umbrella scene, it was hilarious haha!

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations and thanks for the mention.
    I’ve heard very mixed reviews about Free. I haven’t really seen much sports anime, but I certainly am aware of the sheer amount of fanservice featured in it, and I also feel that it has played a huge role in its popularity. So I don’t think I’ll watch it anytime soon.
    Anime that one can relate to are the most hilarious!
    Nice answers. Thanks again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for nominating me, and no problem!

      The fanservice and Yaoi undertones are definitely what made the show popular, mostly because of Tumblr. As a Sports Anime, it’s pretty mediocre in my opinion.

      And I agree! Relatable stuff is the funniest stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the award.I don’t think I’m ever going to finish Free at this point given every time I think about watching it I just remember the near drowning and find something else to watch so I’ll never know my final thoughts on that series. I was enjoying it up until that point.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on the award and thanks for the nomination! I probably won’t get around to responding until the new year because wow I’ve got a lot of posting lined up what with deciding to do 12 days of anime, plus shows wrapping up and me wanting to look at some ‘anime of the year’ things. It’s a good thing I’ll have a bit more free time in the next few weeks.

    Your passion about Hunter X Hunter makes me quite curious about the show. I’m thinking about watching a longer series next year, and I think that it’s starting to move up towards the top of my list owing to all the positive press I keep seeing in the blogosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

