30 Day Anime Challenge #8 – My Favourite Anime Couple

I’m a sucker for romance.

I love relationships in Anime, and when a couple who should get together do get together, I’m always on board.

I love watching couples get together in Anime, and seeing two characters declare their love for one another and act like they’re genuinely in love always brings a smile to my face.

So being a sucker for romance, who are my favourite Anime couple?

Syaoran and Sakura (Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle)

83a3a4a74bc5f97049a24b4626044fb2

Syaoran and Sakura are childhood friends. They’ve known each other since they were kids, and despite their differences in upbringing and social status, throughout their childhood, they were always there for each other. It was meant to be, they were destined for each other.

When the story of Tsubasa starts off, Syaoran, now a budding archaeologist pays a visit to the hometown where he and Sakura grew up together, taking a break from a long excavation he is leading. Immediately upon arriving, Sakura attacks him with a loving hug, demands he tell her everything about his work while he was away and spends the entire day with him, even though she’s not allowed to leave the palace due to being the princess of her country.

tsubasa-reservoir-chronicle-full-31536

The two have deep, romantic feelings for each other, but before either of them can confess their feelings, everything is brought to an abrupt halt when tragedy strikes and Sakura has her memories scattered across various parallel universes. Syaoran, with the lifeless Sakura in tow, them embarks on a quest to travel across these dimensions and find each and every one of Sakura’s memories, risking life and limb to do so.

And the real kicker is that in order to gain the power to travel to these worlds, Syaoran must give up the one thing most precious to him: the relationship he shares with Sakura. No matter how many memories Sakura regains, she will never remember who he was, what he meant to her or the memories they made together.

trc3

And despite all this, despite putting his life at risk and having his heart crushed every time she doesn’t remember who he is, Syaoran still does his best because he loves her that much. He doesn’t care about himself, all he cares about is that his true love is alive and well.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. As the plot develops and more hardships befall them, the couple wind up further and further apart, which eventually culminates in unspeakable tragedy that I can’t discuss because of massive spoilers.

Yet, despite all the tragedy and depressing moments, the love between these two characters feels very real. The entire theme of Tsubasa focuses on how fragile the relationship between two individuals can be, and how easy it is for a romance to be destroyed, yet it also focuses on rebuilding that broken connection and starting anew by rising above the hardships and problems and moving on: together and stronger than ever before.

And it is that theme and the strength of their relationship despite all of those hardships that makes Syaoran and Sakura my favourite romantic pairing in Anime, even if it isn’t as full of smiles and happiness as the average romance.

It’s a romance that has resonated well with me for a number of years, and finally getting to see it blossom after all the hardships, makes for a truly satisfying romance.

Thanks for reading everyone!

tumblr_o5dm3lGtxt1r4ixqko1_500.gif

Who are your favourite couple in Anime?

13 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge #8 – My Favourite Anime Couple

  1. A) I love this. Let’s talk about anime couples every day. It’s a great topic and also… it give me soooo much watch material. 🙂
    B) I had never seen this show, BUT NOW I MUST. You know, so I can fall in love with his love for her and go weep in a ball on my couch every time I am reminded that he’s given up his happiness for her well being because of that love. Oh, jeez. Just the idea is… ah. Too early in the morning to cry. Stop, shoujo. I kid you not, just the idea… Real tears now STOP, SHOUJO.
    C) I can see why you would love this couple. Love doesn’t always end up being a happy story. There is love in the joy of togetherness and the in the pain of permanent seperation. Seeing the painful side makes it real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure thing Shoujo! I’d be happy to recommend other Anime with solid romances! Thanks for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Oh, you absolutely must. Tsubasa is an incredible series, but it’s very tragic and sad as well at many points, and it really gives me the feels every time I watch it. Sadly, the Anime doesn’t get to the end, so you’ll need to pick up the Manga after Season 2 😦 There are some OVA’s as well though that come after the Anime. If you’re interested in experiencing the whole story, let me know and I’ll give a watching guide I made up to help you out! 🙂

      But yeah, Tsubasa is my second favourite series, and was my favourite for many years! 🙂

      And yeah, the tragic side of their relationship is a real kicker, but it ends up making everything they share that much stronger and that much more satisfying in the end.

      And thanks haha, I always put a sleepy Tanaka picture at the end of my posts because I always feel sleepy after I write a post *yawn*

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. This anime sure seems like a great watch. This post has made me want to watch it even more than before! I love solid romances that have twists and turns and tragedies. I had certainly not thought that this anime would also have an element of romance (I’m very oblivious like that)
    Thanks for sharing! Awesome post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sakura and Syaoran are perfect together in Tsubasa Chronicles. It’s one of the greatest love stories i’ve ever watched though the whole endless journey thing kind of takes away the great feeling you would get from resolving the story with a happily ever after.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nice pick yourself!

      You should definitely get round to finishing it when you have the time, although you’ll need to pick up the manga here and there to experience it all because season 3 was cancelled and the two OVAs series have an arc in between them and miss out the last arc…

      Maybe one day we’ll get a remake! That’d be great!

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just had to read when I saw the Tanaka-kun picture 😀

    Hmm. My favorite couple would have to be Chihiro and Haku from Spirited Away. I have never rooted for a couple more. 🙂 A really funny couple I liked watching was from Bakuman: Aoki Ko and Hiramaru.

    Like

Leave a Reply

